About Prosperity UK's
Alternative Arrangements Commission

The Alternative Arrangements Commission is co-chaired by Rt Hon Nicky Morgan MP and Rt Hon Greg Hands MP.

The Commission has sought to develop credible and practical Alternative Arrangements relating to the Irish Border that can be delivered in a timely fashion to ensure that the UK retains full flexibility in its future negotiations with the European Union.

Working within the boundaries of the Withdrawal Agreement

The Commission has worked within the boundaries of the Withdrawal Agreement (WA) and related instruments, and has sought to substantially deepen the work stream on Alternative Arrangements enshrined in the WA, to which both the UK and EU are now even further committed to through the March 2019 Strasbourg Joint Instrument. The Commission’s principal objective was to develop detailed proposals to avoid physical infrastructure at the border via “consideration of comprehensive customs cooperation arrangements, facilitative arrangements and technologies, ” as described within the Joint Instrument relating to the WA.

Protecting the Belfast/Good Friday Agreement

The Commission has looked at solutions that are both realistic and sustainable and recognise that their formulation and implementation will require the engagement of many stakeholders in the UK, Ireland and Europe. Key to the proposals is a commitment to protecting the Belfast/Good Friday Agreement.

Compatible with any of the EU-UK future relationship proposals

The Commission’s work was to seek to create further material for parliament to debate, to highlight to our European partners that there is an on-going parliamentary majority for the WA provided that a template for Alternative Arrangements can be agreed. It should be noted that the work of the Commission is compatible with any of the EU-UK future relationship proposals currently under consideration.

The Parliamentary Commission has worked with a Technical Panel of customs, trade and legal experts who have focused on a number of workstreams. These includes, non-exhaustively, key issues like borders and security, trusted trader programmes, technical checks in the areas of sanitary and phytosanitary issues, regulations and standards, financial arrangements, protection of the Belfast/Good Friday Agreement, and small traders.

The Alternative Arrangements Commission Report & Protocols and Executive Summary

You can view and download the Report & Protocols and Executive Summary by clicking on the images below:




Members of the Technical Panel are independent experts who have been asked to provide technical advice to the Commission without favouring any political group or outcome:

Peter Allgeier


Nauset Global LLC

Christer Andersson

Independent International Customs Expert

Lord Bew


Rickie Cole

Business Development Manager - Governments and Institutions (GIS)

SGS United Kingdom

Frank Dunsmuir

Industry Lead for Customs and Borders


Dr Graham Gudgin

Centre of Business Research

University of Cambridge

Des Hiscock

Business Region United Kingdom/Ireland

KGH Customs

Lars Karlsson

Independent International Customs Expert

Iain Liddell

Group Managing Director, Founder and Owner

Uniserve Group

Dr Robert MacLean

Independent International Customs Lawyer

Hans Maessen

Independent Customs Advisor

Business & Government

Alan Oxley


ITS Global

Eduardo Perez-Motta

Advisory Board Member

American Antitrust Institute

Jennifer Powers



Bertrand Rager

Managing Director


Dr Srinivasa Rangan

Schoool of Strategy and Global Studies

Babson College, US

Razeen Sally

Associate Professor, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy

University of Singapore

Shanker Singham



Sir Lockwood Smith

Former High Commissioner to the UK

Government of New Zealand

Tony Smith CBE

Global Expert

Border Management and Security

Dinesh Unadkat

Director - Customs & Excise Compliance

J D Consultants

John Weekes

Senior Business Adviser

Bennett Jones

If you cannot see the full list of speakers required for this page please make sure you have ordered all speakers in your custom list.
Edit Custom Order Here »
Only administrators can see this message


The following are members of the commission:

Bim Afolami MP
Steve Baker MP
Lord Bew
Sir Graham Brady MP
Suella Braverman MP (co-Chair)
Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP
Rt Hon Stephen Crabb MP
Rt Hon David Davis MP
Rt Hon Nigel Dodds MP
Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP
Rt Hon Philip Dunne MP
George Eustice MP
Rt Hon Sir Michael Fallon MP
Baroness Finn
Rt Hon Caroline Flint MP
Rt Hon Arlene Foster MLA
Marcus Fysh MP
Mark Garnier MP
Rt Hon Dame Cheryl Gillan MP
Lord Glasman
Luke Graham MP
Rt Hon Damian Green MP
Rt Hon Greg Hands MP (co-Chair)

Kate Hoey MP
The Lord Hogan-Howe QPM
Stephen Kinnock MP
Lord Lamont of Lerwick
Lord Lilley
Emma Little Pengelly MP
Alan Mak MP
Kit Malthouse MP
Lord Marland
Rt Hon Esther McVey MP
Rt Hon Penny Mordaunt MP
Rt Hon Nicky Morgan MP
Neil O’Brien MP
Rt Hon Owen Paterson MP
Chris Philp MP
Rt Hon Dominic Raab MP
Jacob Rees-Mogg MP
Lee Rowley MP
Lord Trimble
Shailesh Vara MP
Rt Hon Theresa Villiers MP
Charles Walker MP
Lord Wolfson of Aspley Guise


We would like to thank the following organisations who have kindly engaged
with the work of the Commission:

Beagans Limited
Brexit Institute, Dublin City University
British Chambers of Commerce
British – Irish Chamber of Commerce
British Retail Consortium
Confederation of British Industry
City Centre Initiative Derry – Londonderry
Clarksons Port Services
Coca-Cola HBC
Dairy UK
Department for the Economy, NI
Derry City and Strabane District Council
Duddy Group
Fleming Agri
Foremost Freight
Foyle Port
Freight Transport Association NI
Federation of Small Business
Federation of Small Business NI
Greenfields Ireland
Her Majesty’s Revenue & Customs
Houston Solutions
Institute of Directors
Irish Cattle and Sheep Association
Irish International Freight Association


Irish SME Association
Jack Murphy Jewellers
JN Wine
Lakeland Dairies
Londonderry Chamber of Commerce
Manifests Ireland
Manufacturing NI
Members of the Irish Parliament
Members of the UK Parliament
MJM Construction
National Farmers Union
Newry and Mourne Enterprise Agency
Newry Business Improvement District
Newry Chamber of Commerce
NI Food and Drink Federation
NI Grain Trade Association
NI Mineral Products Association
NI Retail Consortium
NSF International
O’Neills International Sportswear
Ráth Mór Creggan Enterprises
The Executive Office, Northern Ireland
The Quays, Newry
Ulster Farmers Union
Ulster University
Warrenpoint Port
Wisetech Global